Women’s Premier League T20 2023 Team Names, Players List & WIPL Franchises Name

Women’s Premier League (WPL) T20 2023 Team Names, Players List & WPL 2023 Franchises Name: All cricket fans are waiting for the official inauguration date of the upcoming Women’s Indian Premier League t20 2023. We have the latest update that the media rights of the upcoming WPL even sold at Rs 1000 crore to Viacom. BCCI has invited bids for all 5 WPL teams’ franchises. According to the latest update, all the IPL franchise have submitted their bids for the WPL franchise.

In December 2022, BCCI Chief announced the Event of WPL tournament will be held in India in February end just after the end of the ICC women’s World Cup 2023. There will be 5 teams in the tournament from the 6 zones Central, North, East, North East, South, and West. The names of teams or franchises of the WIL T20 2023 will be decided with the selected city from each zone.


Women’s PL T20 2023 Team Names

BCCI (Board of Control for Cricket in India) already announced the names of the cities by which the Franchise and Team name will be selected. According to the latest news Chennai Super King is the only franchise IPL that has not submitted a bid for the WPL Franchise, the rest of the franchises have submitted their bids. Meanwhile, we all know that only 5 teams will be selected from 6 cricketing zones. Below are the details of Women’s IPL 2023 teams and franchise names.

Key Highlights of Women’s PL T20 2023 Team Names
Name of the Tournament Women’s IPL t20- 2023
Governing Body BCCI
Season 1st season of WPL
Official Media Sponsor Viacom 18
WPL 2023 1st Match 23 March 2023 (Expected)
Team/ Franchise bid Opening End of Jan 2023
WPL Team Names Expected in Feb 2023
Number of teams in WPL 2023 5
Women’s IPL 2023 Player Auction Date 15 February 2023
Official Website Link Click Here

Women's IPL T20 2023 Team Names and Franchise Name

WPL 2023 Team List/ Franchise Name

BCCI has announced that the first season of WPL will be in March 2023 and only 5 teams will play in the tournament. BCCI has announced tentative names of WPL T20 Teams. Which are divided into 6 cricketing zones. The bids of the franchise auction of WPL were invited by the governing body for the franchises. Soon BCCI will announce the name of the teams for WPL 2023.

A total of 23 number matches will be played in a round-robin format. Each team will play one match with the other four teams in the tournament. Below are the details of the expected names of the teams.

All-women_s-Premier-league-teams-official-name (1)

WPL 2023 Zone-wise Team Names (WIPL Franchise’s Name)
North Zone Delhi Capitals
East Zone UP Warriors
Central Zone Mumbai Indians
South Zone Royal Challengers Bangalore
West Zone Gujarat Giants

Women’s Premier League 2023 Team Players List

According to the latest news BCCI will announce a worldwide players auction in February 2023 for the WPL. This auction is going to be as huge as the IPL’s first auction in 2009. The team format will remain the same as before. A total of 25 members will be in one team and that will contain 8 overseas players in one team allowed. Only 3 overseas players will be allowed to play in one match of WPL. We are still waiting for the complete list of WPL team player list.

Below is the tentative detail of the team players list of WPL 2023:

Women’s IPL 2023 Team Players List (Tentative)
WIPL 2023-Team Player- Pune Not Finalized Yet
WIPL 2023 Team Player- Rajkot Not Finalized Yet
WIPL2023 Team Player- Indore Not Finalized Yet
WIPL 2023 Team Player- Raipur Not Finalized Yet
WIPL 2023 Team Player- Guwahati Not Finalized Yet
WIPL 2023 Team Player-  Visakhapatnam Not Finalized Yet
WIPL 2023 Team Player- Kochi Not Finalized Yet
WIPL2023  Team Player- Ranchi Not Finalized Yet
WIPL2023  Team Player- Cuttack Not Finalized Yet
WIPL 2023 Team Player- Jammu Not Finalized Yet
WIPL 2023 Team Player- Dharamshala Not Finalized Yet

WPL t20 2023 Franchises Name & Details

February 2023 will the month in which BCCI will add a new chapter in the history of world cricket by launching the first-ever Premier League championship for the women crickets of the world in India. Women’s Indian Premier League will Start in March 2023 with 5 new franchises in the world of the women’s cricket era. As we know that the ICC women’s world cup is going to start in February this year and the WIPL championship will start just after the women’s ODI World Cup.

According to the news from reliable sources, the famous football club owner Manchester United has shown his interest to buy a franchise of WIPL. The bids for the franchise are going to be organized in Feb 2023.

FAQs related to Women’s Premier League 2023

Q.1 How many teams will play in WIPL 2023?
5 Teams will be in the first season of WIPL 2023 t20.

Q.2 How many overseas women cricket players will be in one team?
Five overseas players can be on each side of the playing squads of WIPL.

Q.3 Who is the Title sponsor of the WIPL 2023?
The title sponsors have yet not been finalized by the BCCI.

Q.4 Who won the Media Rights of WIPL for the next 10 Years?
Viacom 18 won the media rights of WIPL for the Next ten years

Q.5 Can we buy live cricket match tickets online for WIPL 2023?
Yes, everyone can buy live WIPL Cricket match tickets online.

Dear Friends!! That’s all we have right now the information regarding Women’s IPL T20 2023, Name of the playing teams, Name of the WIPL 2023 Franchises, and other details. Feel free to ask us about your queries related to WIPL 2023. Please write to us in below comment box, we will revert back ASAP.

Tags related to this article
Categories related to this article
General, Latest News, Sports

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top