NATO Countries List 2023 – Is India a Member of NATO, Last Member of NATO

NATO Countries List 2022-2023 is available on this page and we will discuss the latest nato countries list in detail. In today’s article, we would like to share complete information regarding NATO Member Countries, What is NATO? etc. Apart from that, we will also tell you who was the Last Member Country to join NATO.

With that, you will also get to know information about whether Is India a member of NATO or Not. So to get the answers to all these questions, we would recommend you to read this article ahead. And after reading the article, feel free to give your opinion in the comments section. About the information, we have provided through this website.


About NATO Countries List 2023

First of all, the full name of NATO is “North Atlantic Treaty Organization”. The term NATO is also known as the North Atlantic Entanglement. It was founded on 4 April 1949 by the United States, Canada, and 10 other western European nations. With the aim to provide security against the Soviet Union and guarantee the safety of its members by political and military means. However, the main purpose of NATO is to build trust and solve the problems of all the member countries. In simple words, if due to any reason the diplomatic efforts fail, then in that situation he has the military power to undertake crisis management operations.

NATO Countries List 2022 - Updated List

NATO constitutes a system of collective security, by which its independent member states agree to mutual defense in response to an attack by any external party. Also, the Provision for enlargement is given by Article 10 of the North Atlantic Treaty. According to this, membership is open to any “European State in a position to further the principles of this Treaty and to contribute to the security of the North Atlantic area”. However, any decision to invite a country to join the Alliance is taken by the North Atlantic Council. It is NATO’s principal political decision-making body, on the basis of agreement among all Allies.

List of NATO Countries 2023 (Updated)

Founding Members of NATO: The foreign ministers from 12 countries signed the North Atlantic Treaty (also known as the Washington Treaty) on 4 April 1949 at the Departmental Auditorium in Washington, D.C. the names of the founding members of NATO are Belgium, Canada, Denmark, France, Iceland, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, the United Kingdom, and the United States.

Total NATO Members 2023: Currently, the total number of NATO Members are consist of 30 members. Out of these 30 countries, only 2 countries are from North America and the rest 28 countries are European Nations.

In order to know the names of all 30 NATO Countries List 2023, check out the table given below:

NATO Countries Name  Year of Joining NATO
Belgium 1949
Canada 1949
Denmark 1949
France 1949
Iceland 1949
Italy 1949
Luxembourg 1949
Netherlands 1949
Norway 1949
Portugal 1949
United Kingdom 1949
United States 1949
Greece 1952
Turkey 1952
Germany 1955
Spain 1982
Czech Republic 1999
Hungary 1999
Poland 1999
Bulgaria 2004
Estonia 2004
Latvia 2004
Lithuania 2004
Romania 2004
Slovakia 2004
Slovenia 2004
Albania 2009
Croatia 2009
Montenegro 2017
North Macedonia 2020

Last Member of NATO

The last member country to be added to NATO was “North Macedonia” on 27 March 2020. Since its founding, the admission of new member states has increased the alliance from the original 12 countries to 30. Now, NATO is currently thinking of adding new countries to the list, and it recognizes Bosnia & Herzegovina, Georgia, and Ukraine as the new aspiring members. That is the main reason Russia is doing to war over Ukraine as it doesn’t want Ukraine to join NATO. Because it will make Ukraine a strong militant competitor against Russia in the future.

Other Latest News:

NATO Member List 2023 – Key Highlights

Article NATO Countries List 2023
Full-Form of NATO North Atlantic Treaty Organization
Founded By United States, Canada, And 10 Western European Countries
Launched Date 1949
NATO Headquarters Brussels, Belgium
Headquarters of Allied Command Operations Mons, Belgium
Total Members of NATO 30
Last Member of NATO North Macedonia
Official Website
Post-category General | Latest News

NATO Partner Countries List

Apart from the main 30 NATO members on the list, there are many other countries that are currently partnering with NATO. But they are not officially included in the NATO Member list. In near future NATO can think of adding members from this NATO Partner Countries List.

Below we have mentioned the full list of NATO Partner Countries:

  • Armenia
  • Austria
  • Azerbaijan
  • Belarus
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Finland
  • Ireland
  • Kazakhstan
  • Georgia
  • Kyrghyz Republic
  • Malta
  • The Republic of Moldova
  • Russia
  • Serbia
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Tajikistan
  • Turkmenistan
  • Ukraine
  • Uzbekistan

Is India a member of NATO?

Many of you have a question in mind “Is India a member of NATO?” the answer is “NO”. India is not a member of NATO and there are many reasons for not being a member country of NATO. The first and main reason is India is not in the North Atlantic or anywhere close to the Atlantic. And as you know NATO stands for North Atlantic Treaty Organization so, it is not possible for India to join NATO. However, India’s historic stance was always to avoid the formation of allied groups to gang up on other countries. Thus, even when India was a closer partner of the USSR it avoided joining the Warsaw pact and other rival groups of NATO.

Tags related to this article
Categories related to this article
Featured, Latest News

2 thoughts on “NATO Countries List 2023 – Is India a Member of NATO, Last Member of NATO”

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top